EVERY 4 TICKETS = $5 FOR YOU!
Buy Tickets. Get Rewarded.
DETAILS
Get a $5 Reward. Buy Tickets. Earn Points.

Fathom Events - They Shall Not Grow Old

Rotten Tomatoes Scores

100%

Mar 2, 2019

There's a lot to debate here, and a lot to admire.

Full Review
Michael Phillips

Michael Phillips

Chicago Tribune

Top Critic

Feb 21, 2019

"They Shall Not Grow Old" is a nearly great talking-head documentary in which the talking heads are never seen, only heard.

Full Review
Richard Brody

Richard Brody

New Yorker

Top Critic

Feb 1, 2019

It's a true act of revival.

Full Review
Adam Graham

Adam Graham

Detroit News

Top Critic

Jan 31, 2019

For the first time, those jittery, frenetic figures in ancient newsreels look and move like people you know.

Full Review
Rafer Guzman

Rafer Guzman

Newsday

Top Critic

Jan 30, 2019

"They Shall Not Grow Old" shows that actually seeing something is different from knowing it intellectually, or even from imagining it. The effect of this is moving and profound.

Full Review
Mick LaSalle

Mick LaSalle

San Francisco Chronicle

Top Critic

Jan 30, 2019

Peter Jackson has taken a mass of World War I archival clips from Britain's Imperial War Museum and fashioned it into a brisk, absorbing and moving experience.

Full Review
Ben Kenigsberg

Ben Kenigsberg

New York Times

Top Critic

Apr 18, 2019

That the documentary genre, when it's done well... [is] stronger than any work of fiction is something justly verifiable in this film by Peter Jackson. [Full review in Spanish]

Full Review
Pablo A. Scholz

Pablo A. Scholz

Clarín

Apr 18, 2019

The film sidesteps the politics of the war to focus on the common soldiers and their experiences in the First Great War with a wonderful narration and a beautiful technological feat. [Full Review in Spanish]

Full Review
Erick Estrada

Erick Estrada

Cinegarage

Apr 17, 2019

Even if you don't think you are a WWI buff, this remarkable film is an experience you do not want to miss.

Full Review
Cate Marquis

Cate Marquis

We Are Movie Geeks

Apr 17, 2019

They Shall Not Grow Old escapes the fiction and documentary conventions to come up with a shocking and moving testimony. [Full Review in Spanish]

Full Review
Emiliano Basile

Emiliano Basile

EscribiendoCine

Fans Say
1385 Ratings
What did you think? Write a review

Incredible peek into history

By jennifermarie168

I don't leave a lot of reviews... this movie in incredible. It is both an oral and visual history, given chronologically. The oral history is curated from veteran interviews conducted in the '60's. Obviously the visual history is from actual WWI footage. A word of caution to those slightly faint of heart... the visual history includes moments very graphic in nature - as that is the nature of war. It doesn't feel gratuitous - just a fact of. The stories were fascinating to hear. It is just so. well. done. Terrific interview with Peter Jackson follows the credits.

Magnificent!

By sir_reviews_alot

This film really humanized WWI for me. I am in awe of how much detail and how modern this film made the war. I have never seen anything like it.

This is a must see documentary! Powerful!

By Richardbriscoe1

must see

By logan20bowers

great documentary, commentary comes from soldiers on the Western front. amazing video restoration of 100 year old film.

By tmayone

New version available! Refresh
New content available! Refresh
You are back online! Refresh
You are offline :(